Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

And summer begins

Leave a comment

Well, things have been fairly quiet lately, which is surprising as the kids got out of school for the summer last Friday.  It looks like it will be a pretty quiet summer for the most part.  Alex and I will take one trip to Alabama to see my stepmother; I’m sure we’ll see some sights and do some swimming, as well as visit family.  That’s the big excitement this summer – no other trips likely.

Tomorrow, our dear Sophie has another EEG.  Sigh.  I know that it is a valuable test, but I hate this process.  She normally is asleep by 9 – I have to keep her awake until midnight.  Then we get to get her up at 5 am.  And she can’t eat anything for 12 hours prior to the EEG.  Fun, fun, fun – there’s nothing quite like a hungry, sleep-deprived child to really make the day fun and exciting.  Sigh.   Ah well.  It will be over before I know it, I know – and I know it could be worse.  LOL knowing that does not make this process better.

Sophie is going to summer camp this week and she LOVES it.  It is a camp for disabled children and adults, so she should be able to continue to go as long as we get applications in in a timely fashion.  They do arts, music, and other activities plus she gets to swim for a while at the end of the day, every day, so she really looks forward to this camp.  She goes three or four weeks every year.  Normally it is four, but I took too long getting my application in this year.

There is also summer school for Sophie.  This year, though, they shaved two weeks off of it.  I think someone, somewhere, missed the point of summer school for special needs children – at least some of the point.  One thing I liked about summer school was that it kept there from being a huge gap between one school year and the next.  Well, now there is going to be a big gap between school year, summer school, and school year.  In addition, she does better with a routine.  With a six-week summer school it was easier to keep her in a routine.  Well, there’s not much I can do about it; I am sure this is a result of budget issues within the school system.

Leave a Reply

