Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

It’s Over

Well at least the election is over.  That’s the best I can say.  To be honest, my reaction to finding out that Trump won was to wish I could go back to bed and pull the cover over my head.  I still find the concept mind-boggling but it is what it is.  I am slowly getting over the shock.

The first day was painful.  I spent most of it trying to be productive and wrapping my head around the election results.  Prognosticators had been saying – at least a good number of them had – that it was 80% that Hillary Clinton would win.  I was nervous but so many people were saying how far behind Trump was that I didn’t seriously think he could win.

Well.  That was just wrong.  Wrong, wrong, wrong.  And it stinks.  I watched how much hate he stirred up during the campaign – the KKK supported him, David Duke endorsed him, and white supremacy groups supported him.  His “Make America Great Again” turned into “Make America White Again.”  I don’t have to spell out how ugly that is, and what it means to large swathes of our society.

I am still working through the shock.  I hope I am wrong, but I think the next four years are going to be ugly.  I sincerely hope that I am wrong, that he will actually make some effort to be a decent human being.  I don’t know if he has that in him, though.

I was going to put a picture of Trump here, but I couldn’t bring myself to do so, so here are some cute dogs.

boop-your-nose

Comments are closed.