Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Slow progress is still progress, right?

Leave a comment

Well, I’ve accomplished one thing in the past month – I’ve gotten my daughter into Project Lifesaver, a program to help bring people with cognitive issues home if they run off.  I’m so relieved – I mean, I hope I never need it but knowing that she has an anklet to allow the police to track her if she disappears is such a relief.  Her anklet was put on by a very nice policeman, who checked to make sure it fit just right.  He gave me all sorts of information on the program, and explained what information the police need if I ever need to call them.

At least I am starting to make progress in the projects on my to-do list:  (a) Project Lifesaver, (b) EDCD waiver for Sophie to help pay for expenses and possibly get respite care, and (c) get our life insurance up to a reasonable level and write wills.  Those are the big three and now I’ve accomplished the first.

I feel like I’ve been in a fog for a very long time.  I am sure that it has been depression, despite being on antidepressants.  It is amazing what a deep whole depression can be and how much effort it takes to dig out from it.  Escaping its grasp is the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do and I expect it will be a lifetime fight, just based on our circumstances.  I try hard to be kind to myself when I take a few steps back and celebrate times like now when I make progress.

 

Leave a Reply

