Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Movie Marathon Weekend

Leave a comment

Pooped in your shoes I have.jpg

Ok so this was NOT the most productive weekend ever.  It was, however, delightful.  The kids had a sleepover with Grandma and Poppop Friday night, so my husband and I decided to watch the Lord of the Rings trilogy over the course of the weekend.  I love those stories so much.  The movies are beautifully done, in my opinion, so we had a terrific time.  It was nice to spend some concentrated time watching something that we both really wanted to with less concern about kids being present.

Saturday I continued the movie marathon by having my “girls day out” in our bedroom and watching the original Star Wars trilogy by myself.  It would have been more fun with my husband but he volunteered to watch the kids so I could have some time to myself.  The quiet of time uninterrupted combined with one of my favorite movies (actually three…) was fantastic.

I think time to myself is incredibly important right now and I am trying to ensure that I get it fairly regularly.  Our daughter has developed some behavior issues relatively recently and is … challenging at times (well, go figure – what child isn’t at times).  If I don’t get time alone once in a while, I find it much harder to be patient like I need to be with her.  I think this was a great self-care weekend!

And next weekend?  We’re off – my husband, myself, and our son – to the National Walk for Epilepsy in Washington, DC.  It is on Saturday but we’re going up early to meet the LGS Foundation group for a Meet and Greet Friday night as well as to spend some time Saturday looking around DC with our son.  He’s at a prime age to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

