Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Unsent letters – F Psychological Associates

Leave a comment

Dear Madam,

I received your letter of February 24, 2016, regarding a recent missed appointment and termination of our use of your practice – the appointments my 10-year-old son and myself.

I admit that we completely forgot the appointment of Thursday of last week due to the death of my maternal grandmother.  She passed away on Wednesday, at the age of 93, and she was very important to us as a family.  My mother needed assistance and quite frankly, I was more concerned about her well being than the appointments I had scheduled for myself (other doctors) and my son (your practice).  Nonetheless, it is quite rude to set an appointment and not show up.  I apologize and I would gladly have paid for the appointment, had I been given the opportunity.  Instead, I found myself holding a letter stating my son was no longer a patient of yours and that I should look around the area for someone else.

I have to say that is without a doubt the weakest offer of suggestions of help for a therapist that I have ever heard.  I found your practice, didn’t I?  How do you think I did that?  I know how to find help for my child but I have to say I will be much more careful this time around – I had no idea one could get booted from a practice for a missed appointment, leaving a child without the assistance he needs on no notice.  Frankly, I think I will start with Children’s Hospital – they have a far better track record with my child and with people around in general.

Third, I do hope when you said you cancelled all future appointments that you were referring to my one appointment scheduled in May with your doctor.  If not, well, please do cancel my appointment because I won’t be returning.  I assume that two months’ notice is enough time for you.

Thank you for your letter and your recommendations.  I hope that this is the end of any contact between us.  I have no need for any further assistance.

Sincerely (mostly)

An aggravated parent

Leave a Reply

