Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Giving Thanks

Leave a comment

We had a delightful day at my brother- and sister-in-law’s house.  It was my husband’s family, and my mom and stepdad.  Thankfully there was no unpleasantness with my stepfather who has been known to be ugly to my mother.

Our daughter had a wonderful time running around outside and we discovered, to our delight, that she is taking an interest in dogs.  A family member of my sister-in-law’s brought a whippet with her and she and my daughter had a great time running around the yard.

My son had fun playing with his little cousin.  They played inside, then moved outside, thanks to a beautiful 70-degree day.

The adults all ate a tremendous lunch of turkey, ham, rolls, mashed potatoes, corn with cumin and other spices, sweet potatoes, and so many other delicious foods.  There was so much food I didn’t make it to desert.  After that we sat around talking, which I really enjoyed.  I don’t usually have that much time to talk with people because our daughter usually doesn’t do well in large gatherings.  She has, apparently, come a long way in just one year.  Sometimes it takes a family gathering to make you see what has been happening gradually under your own nose.

What am I giving thanks for?  I am grateful for fun family members, for good friends (online, near, and those far away).  I am grateful for family, who have been such a wonderful source of support for me.  I am grateful for my husband and children.  I am grateful for my stepmother who made my father so happy for 24 years, and for her son, my brother – he’s been very good to me and is very thoughtful.  I could go on, and I will on other occasions, but I’m afraid today’s eating has caught up with me…I’m sleepy.

 

Leave a Reply

