Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Deep breaths

Leave a comment

The new position at work seems to be ok.  It isn’t exciting and wouldn’t have been my first choice, but you know, if it were fun, they’d call it play, not work.  (Yes, I know – some folks actually adore what they do; unfortunately, I am not one of them right now.)  Still, I am hopeful that I will learn a lot in this job, so there’s that.  I know this sounds fairly negative but I do actually think this will work out ok, if I can ride out the growing pains.

Healthwise, our family is recovering from the first cold/allergy attack of the spring.  Ugh.  All of us have had it now – my husband seems to have developed the worst of it; his might actually be bronchitis.  Sigh.  Well, it is always something, isn’t it?  It could have been much worse – it could have been a stomach bug!  I’m grateful for the little things in life.

At this point, everyone in the house is either asleep or in their room but me.  I’m enjoying my tv shows and basic peace and quiet.  I’m getting up with the kids tomorrow so that my husband can get a little extra rest, so I know I can’t stay up late, but I am determined to enjoy what time I have.  Make the most of what you do have is my motto (LOL, when I’m feeling fairly good about life – when you’re down it is harder to do that.)

One down note: we think our daughter might be having gelastic seizures.  If you’ve not heard of them, believe me, you are not alone.  Until our daughter started having seizures we were completely unaware of a LOT of different types of seizures.  Gelastic seizures involve laughing – or something approximating laughter.  Frequently, it isn’t a pleasant laugh; in my daughter’s case, it sounds odd, almost forced.  I’ve seen her grimace during these periods.  Looking at her, it doesn’t appear like the seizures I’m more familiar with, but she doesn’t look quite right either during these periods.  She has an appointment soon with her neurologist so we’re going to ask him about them.  Sigh.  I hope, hope, HOPE that I am wrong; she has been seizure-free for three years.

Leave a Reply

