Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Some things take a long time to recover from

Leave a comment

Norfolk Botanical Gardens, April 2014

Norfolk Botanical Gardens, April 2014

I realized recently that I have pretty much stopped taking my daughter outside.  It wasn’t a conscious decision.  It wasn’t spurred by harsh reactions from others – or impatience, which we sometimes see.  I believe that I have had a deep intense reaction to the fear from her running away from us in Washington, DC, in March.

I thought that I was fine, that life had returned to a normal state.  I suppose it has in many ways, but apparently the fear really, REALLY hit me hard.  Sigh.  It may be understandable but at some point, it is necessary to get back up on the horse, so to speak.  Life cannot stop for things like this.  I have to adjust, look for safety items, but I have to take her back out into the world.  It is good for her, it is good for me, and it is good for our family as a whole.

Summer is coming and parks are nice now.  I need to enjoy the weather, and let the kids enjoy the weather, before the humidity climbs with the temperatures.

Leave a Reply

