Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

As summer draws to a close

Leave a comment

We’re all going back to school.  My husband and I have both decided to take classes (free) on Coursera.  He’s taking three currently, two of which are work-related.  The other is strictly for his own benefit.  I’m taking one at the moment, trying to work back into the swing of family life, chores, work, and school work.  Still, it feels good to stretch the muscles and pull myself out of the (mostly comfortable) rut in which I’ve been stuck.

Of course, our children are back to school as well.  Our eldest is doing well overall, despite some bullying on the bus and around the neighborhood.  It seems to roll right off his back, but I am definitely keeping a sharp eye out and having a word here and there where possible.  My daughter is having adventures of her own.  They’ve moved her to a different school – not the one within walking distance.  Sigh.  She is completely across the (huge) city.  She leaves the house at 7:25 (for an 8:40 start time) and arrives back any time from 4:20 – 5:20.  Her bus has broken down four times now.  Seriously?  This is what the school system said was in her best interest.  I will grant you that they have more things for special needs more readily available at that school, but I’m really not sure how a 10-hour or more day is all that beneficial for a six-year-old.  Still, I have to admit that she’s not fussy when she gets home.  Sigh.

Basically, it took all of September to settle back into our routines.  We’re going to have to work on that better next summer.  Both children are on the autism spectrum, our daughter more severely affected than her brother, and BOTH do much MUCH better with routines, with schedules.  Still, it hasn’t been as painful as I thought it might.

I am slowly feeling more human.  Things have settled down at home.  Work has improved – and is also starting to grant me more room to grow and develop.  It is interesting to me that as we enter seasons associated with death and decay, sleeping and withdrawing, my relationships are blooming and I am growing and changing.  I have hope for the first time in a long, long time and it feels good.

Leave a Reply

