Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Being present

Leave a comment

IMG_20130824_152949_118

Today I had a day out – Mama’s Day Out…lol.  Sometimes you just HAVE to do it.  I went to the botanical garden near us, which is gorgeous.   Most of the people caring for the plants are volunteers; they have even had some nearby military folks come in for various projects.  All of them do a spectacular job.

Anyway – all of that to say that I went there today to stop: stop thinking too much, stop worrying needlessly, stop getting ahead of myself, and stop being anxious.  I simply walked (a lot – 10,000+ steps) and sat.  Today was about 80 degrees, sunny and breezy.  I’m not sure what the humidity was, but it was incredibly low for this time of year.  It was perfect.  I could hear the birds calling, children playing in their area of the gardens, and planes taking off from the airport next door.  I felt the breeze ruffling my hair, the sun on my face and the occasional flick of an insect landing on me.  I got to see a turtle doing his best “I’m the King of the World” (from Titanic) on a log in the water, and a red-headed woodpecker hopping on a tree.

I feel so much better now.  Amazing what stopping and taking a pause from life will do for you.

Leave a Reply

