Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Twice exceptional children

Leave a comment

I learned something new this week – I learned what “twice exceptional children” means.  It seems that our oldest child is on the autism spectrum.  My husband and I have fought (well, argued) against this “label” for some time, but when we went to his IEP meeting this week, some valid points were made to support it.  In addition, we had him evaluated and the verdict was that he may have a learning disability of some sort.  (We’re going to have another evaluation done, just as a side note).

At any rate, in the discussion of autism and his difficulties in the classroom and socially, we also discussed his strengths.  They told us that he does VERY well with reading and math, so much so that the school has run out of books to test him on.  He’s in second grade, and they say he’s reading past a sixth grade level.  That’s when they said he’s a “twice exceptional child.”  We’re going to look into the gifted program for next year – and he’ll still be considered as part of the special needs program as well…

Needless to say, this has been a lot to absorb.  And I’m having to fight the urge to beat myself up because we’ve argued so long against autism.  I know that it doesn’t do any good to kick myself, but that doesn’t make it any easier to stop.  I keep telling myself that all I can do is the best I can, with the information that I have at the time.  Sigh.

Well, we’re going to readjust, shift our thinking, and move on.  Here’s to twice exceptional children, good support systems, and a village looking out for children!

Leave a Reply

