Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Good thing my mother didn’t name me Grace

Leave a comment

My husband and I were having a long-wished-for Date Night on Friday night, while the children had a sleepover at my mother’s house.  We had picked dinner up, sat down and watched it while watching NCIS and were getting ready to start a second episode.  I got up and went to the kitchen to get something and that is when it happened.

I got distracted by something on my desk and went to get it off of my desk and walked HARD into my new, comfortable desk chair.  Immediately I knew I had done something beyond my NORMAL stubbing my toe on a chair.  I couldn’t walk back to the couch.  I couldn’t put any weight on it.  As soon as my husband took my sock off, we saw why: my toe was standing out in a direction away from the rest of my foot that toes really should NEVER go.  Ugh.  I’ll never get that image out of my head.

We went to an urgent care place who took an xray and said, “Yes indeed your toe is broken.”  This was followed a little while later by “we need to put your toe back in place.”  A lot of colorful words went through my mind, but I managed to get “oh really?” out instead.  They DID give me tylenol with codeine and let it take effect, but I will just say that I hope to NEVER have that done again.  That was incredibly painful, to say the least.

At any rate, I now have to see an ankle/foot doctor to have it checked out.  I am assuming that’s because it was a pretty nasty break and pushed out of place.  Yippee.  And my father is coming up for the weekend to visit from Alabama – this usually entails trips to the Children’s Museum, the Virginia Aquarium, or something equally fun, but I doubt very seriously that I’m going to want to do that. I hate missing things like this.  Sigh.

It is a good thing my mother didn’t name me Grace – she would have been lying.  (The year of ballet didn’t help…)

Leave a Reply

