Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

The National Walk for Epilepsy 2013

Leave a comment

Whew.  That was quite a day.  The National Walk for Epilepsy 2013 in Washington, DC, was about three miles.  I swear it wasn’t that long last year…lol.  I hope that I will be better prepared next year – in a number of ways.  It was a beautiful sunny day – but it was nippy.  I really hadn’t thought about that – silly me.  And this year, we walked along the Tidal Basin – beautiful but windy.  Well, it was a WONDERFUL experience – both of our children went for the first time this year; Alex wore a shirt saying “Epilepsy – I LOVE my sister” and Sophie wore one that said “I ROCK Purple for Myself”.  My parents-in-law and my mother and stepfather were also there.  They (and my husband and I) wore hats with a purple butterfly with SOPHIE embroidered on them.  There were thousands of people again, all ages, races, and so forth.  It was SO encouraging to see all those people and to see visitors to DC stopping, asking questions, and taking pictures.  I even saw a crew filming 🙂

After that, my parents took our children back to our home town, allowing my husband and I to go have lunch with some friends.  That was absolutely fantastic.  We went to Maggiano’s – a wonderful Italian restaurant – and talked for quite a while.  Then we visited a phone store – and my husband and I finally, FINALLY replaced our six-year-old phone with a smartphone.  AND my husband decided to stop being an oddity – he has been the only tech guy (SQL database architect) with seven computers in his house but NO cell phone.  He now is the proud owner of a smartphone.  Only took me six years to convince him it could be useful.

We got home last night at 10:30, completely happy from the walk, the food, the visit, and the new phones – and passed out.  The day was exhausting.

It is truly an incredible feeling to participate in something like the Walk for Epilepsy – I highly recommend it.  I cannot even begin to put it into words – and to have people join us for Sophie means so very much to us.

 

Leave a Reply

