Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on

Leave a comment

In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.

Robert Frost

Well, life certainly is an adventure.  Sophie was sick for four days with a stomach virus two weeks ago.  Then, just as she was getting better, my husband got it.  He was sick for four days (out of work two).  Well, a week went by without my son or me getting it, so I was starting to feel a bit more hopeful that it might pass us by – no such luck.  Both of us got violently ill Saturday morning.    Amazingly enough, it has only taken us two days of complete inactivity to recover.    Still – all in all, that whole period of time was exhausting.  Stomach bugs are REALLY, REALLY nasty; in some recent reading, it seems you can remain contagious for quite a long time (some say 3 weeks) after your illness passes.  Seriously?  Well, I can’t stop going out into the world for three weeks!  I suppose that explains why these things go around so quickly in schools and workplaces.  Ugh.

On a brighter note…life does go on.  The holidays are coming up.  We’re making wish lists.  We’re making sure we’re REALLY, REALLY good…just in case 😀  (at least my seven-year-old…my daughter really does not pay attention!).  The weather is cooling off and it actually feels holiday-ish.  Life does go on – the illness passes, the mood passes, the bad passes…and the good as well.  There is a rhythm to life and it is so important to remember – whether you are ecstatic or depressed – that this too shall pass.  Life is so much less stressful if you stop fighting it and relax.

 

Leave a Reply

