Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Part of being me…being an advocate

Leave a comment

Well this is a new phase of my life!  I knew it was coming when I heard my daughter’s diagnosis.  I know that every parent should be an advocate for their child or children, but when your child has special needs, that becomes an absolute requirement.  The necessity arises from all different directions.  My daughter is only three and I’m already seeing the need for me to advocate for her in medical areas, in the school system, in day care arrangements and so forth.  This necessity to be strong, be vocal, be firm and be assertive – well, I’ve got the strong part down pat…its the rest that will be a challenge for me.

I love my daughter dearly and I will do everything in my power to see that she gets what she needs, deserves, and has a right to – regardless of the hurdles in my path.  And the same goes for her brother, although he seems to be vocal enough for the both of us! 😀

Leave a Reply

