Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Thursday 13 – 2nd Edition

Leave a comment

13 things I regret

  1. I regret not being kinder to Lori – a girl I got to know on the bus. I was embarrased by the fact that I knew (in the way that young pre-teens/teens know) that everyone was looking down on me for being her friend. Really, I’m sure no one noticed – I should have been nicer.
  2. I regret not trusting my own knowledge of myself in terms of what career to go into. I listened to my family – to my great detriment – and I am still trying to dig myself out. They don’t (and didn’t) know me as well as they thought.
  3. I regret being kinder than I should have in certain circumstances. Some people really take advantage of that sort of thing.;
  4. I regret worrying so much about so many things as a teen – really, it all turned out (for the most part) ok. The things that are a problem now – I wasn’t worried about then!
  5. I regret many of the things I said to my parents as a teen. If only I knew then what I know now…
  6. I regret that I wasn’t stronger as a child; I should have stood up for a number of people that I knew. I was too afraid.
  7. I regret stealing paper from a company that I worked for a long time ago. I’m far better than they are – or were; they have actually closed that office.
  8. I regret hiring a friend as a subordinate. Of course, I wouldn’t have made him my subordinate – that was my boss’ decision; a poor one, I might add.
  9. I regret telling my family about abuse that happened to me. Since then they’ve decided I need to “reconcile” with the cousin who abused me. Sigh.
  10. I regret pushing my family away, keeping them at arms’ length. Yes, I’ve got some issues with them, but that isn’t the solution and I could be missing out on good relationships. (Excepting that one cousin that abused me – don’t miss that relationship)
  11. I regret leaving band early in high school. Would it have killed me to have stuck out one year once the band director I adored left?
  12. I regret so much of my teen years. I regret friends that I had then, I regret not getting to know others better.
  13. I regret not getting counseling after telling my parents that I had been abused as a young girl. ALWAYS seek counseling – and as parents, always, always, always get the child counseling. My parents took my word, as a 16 year old, that I was fine. I wasn’t.

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

Leave a Reply

