Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

I’m a mother with two small children…

Leave a comment

I’m a mother with two small children, so I don’t take as much crap as I used to.

Pamela Anderson

 

This really speaks to me right now. I’ve discovered a new backbone, one might say, since I had my two children.  I don’t know if it is simply that I’m too tired to put up with excessive silliness or pointless wastes of time, or that I’ve actually grown, but the end result is that I just don’t tolerate it anymore.  Well, my tolerance level for it is much, much lower now.  I’m not rude about it; I just simply stand up and say, “You know what?  That’s about enough of that!”

I’ve started drawing boundaries with my mother and stepfather, who seem bound and determined to drive me mad.  I swear it is just like having children; they’ve pushed me and pushed me and pushed me, like children trying to found out just how much they can get away with.  It is a wonderful thing to discover that I can indeed say, “Hey, enough!  This isn’t good for me and it is going to stop”, even to my parents.  Not only is the new me good for my mental health – it is giving me more self-respect.

Leave a Reply

