Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Importance of a routine and taking care of myself a bit

Leave a comment

I realized that I have gotten out of my routine lately.  Sometimes that is a good thing – like vacations, retreats, treats for yourself and your family, etc. – but sometimes that isn’t so good.  I’ve not been getting as much exercise as I should and I certainly haven’t been eating like I should.  Frankly, I’ve been too tired the last week or so to really care about those things.  However, I think that’s been contributing to my state of mind and stressing about various things.

Today, I went for a long walk with my infant in a sling and my toddler in the stroller – it was almost an hour long.  I feel good; I can feel that I’ve exercised today and that is a nice feeling.  I got to see a hawk; it was chasing a dove, but that’s nature for you.  I had peace and quiet – just chirping birds and the buzz of some bugs.  It was lovely.  I didn’t worry about my family, my situation, or anything else.  I just listened to the world around me.

I also had quiet time last night.  I went into our bedroom, shut the door, and listened to music that I haven’t had a chance to listen to in weeks.  I don’t know why I don’t do this in the evening more often.  I should spend less time on the computer and more time listening to music.  It was fantastic.  I came back downstairs to spend time with my husband after about 45 minutes and the rest of the evening was wonderful as well.  I’ve got to remember that it is OK to spend time alone, not working and not taking care of someone else!

Leave a Reply

