Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Depression: A Family Affair?

Leave a comment

What do you do when both you and your spouse are depressed?  I’m trying to be as supportive and helpful as I can but I can barely deal with my own depression some days.  I just don’t know what I can do about his.  It is awful when both of you are depressed.

Of course, I know that I’m depressed; I’m even on medication for it.  My husband has not been to the doctor or talked to a doctor about it.  I think he’s also depressed; he certainly displays symptoms of it.  However, there are other medical conditions that can cause those symptoms.  I just wish he’d go to the doctor.    I wish he’d get some help, one way or the other.  I’ve been asking him repeatedly about going to the doctor; he just says he hasn’t made an appointment.  There is only so many times I can ask him; I’m not a nag by nature.  And I don’t want to be too pushy; that can just make things worse, I think.

I just don’t know where to go from here.  It is truly amazing how fast your life can go from “going along just great” to “wow – what do we do now?”

I’m trying to do what I can to keep going.  I think it is important to keep moving, to keep learning, to keep working.  I try to find something I NEED to do every day, to give my day some purpose and some light because I simply cannot stay in bed with the covers over my head, no matter how nice that sounds.  With children in the house, that simply isn’t an option.  But I don’t know what to do about my husband.  I don’t know how to help him and that bothers me.  I know somethings only he can do for himself, but I feel so helpless.

Leave a Reply

