Being Me…

and discovering that that is quite the roller coaster ride. Wanna come along?

Family…they mean well, really they do

Leave a comment

My husband is out of work.  He has been for over a year.  Needless to say, that has caused some concern – with us, his parents, my mom and stepdad, my father and stepmother…and so on.  The family has been good about not hounding my husband about what’s going on, the job search, his techniques, etc.  Instead, they’ve called me.

Ordinarily, that wouldn’t be a problem.  However, I got pregnant and I was taking classes at the same time.  I gave birth just two months ago.  I’ve been depressed – the stress of classes, being pregnant, my husband being out of work – and me not working since I was pregnant and taking classes as well.  Oddly enough, I thought I was dealing with enough at one time with all of that.  Oh yes, and a toddler – a two-year-old.  But my family figured they’d call me and ask me all the questions they don’t want to ask my husband.  They figured they’d call and point out what I should be doing or ask me if  my husband is doing … well, whatever they think he should be.

I’ve already informed them that I’ve got a lot on my plate right now and I think that I am doing the best I can under the circumstances.  I’ve even told them I’m on medication for depression.  You’d think that would make them more cautious about calling ME about these things.

I know that they mean well.  I really do.  It was my father’s call yesterday that prompted this.  I know he’s worried about us – I am too.  I know he wants to help.  I understand that.  Unfortunately, sometimes there really isn’t much an outsider can do.  I truly believe my husband is depressed, much like I am.  I’m trying to get him to go to the doctor.  I don’t know what else I can do for him, really.  I’m being as supportive as I can, but as a new mom, I’ve been trying to adjust to having two children – and the whole “sleep deprived” thing.  My husband is, perhaps, without as much support as he would have had had I not just had a baby.  I hate that I can’t do more, but I’m stretched pretty thin.

Anyway.  I love my family, but I don’t want to talk to any of them right now.

Leave a Reply

